Milady Disdain

Romance author captures splendor of Regency era in new novel

Marianne Malthouse crafts riveting story of young woman searching for redemption, love in Regency England

  • Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInShare on PinterestEmail a friend
a story of redemption, hope and love set against the backdrop of the most fascinating eras in English history

(PRWEB) March 12, 2015

ADELAIDE, Australia – Marianne Malthouse returns to the historical romance genre with the release of her novel titled “Milady Disdain” (published by Xlibris AU). In her latest book, Malthouse evokes the grit and glamour of Regency England through the story of Patience Kilpatrick, a young woman who tries to chart her destiny against great odds.

Patience’s father had abandoned his family to fight and die for Bonnie Prince Charlie at the Battle of Culloden. Because of her disgraced patriarch, Patience grew up without the wealth and status that was hers by right. Resigned to living a life far beneath her station, she becomes the governess to the young son of the tragic and enigmatic Milady Costain.

While enduring life’s unexpected twists and turns, Patience transforms from a meek ingénue into a confident and strong woman. Very soon, the young heroine becomes entangled in the lavish landscape of London’s aristocracy, and within her reach, is a life and future she never thought was possible.

Peopled by richly drawn characters, “Milady Disdain” is a story of redemption, hope and love set against the backdrop of the most fascinating eras in English history.

“Milady Disdain”
By Marianne Malthouse
Hardcover | 6 x 9in | 160 pages | ISBN 9781503502659
Softcover | 6 x 9in | 160 pages | ISBN 9781503502642
E-Book | 160 pages | ISBN 9781503502635
Available at Amazon and Barnes & Noble

About the Author
Marianne Malthouse was born in London and has since lived in Zambia and Australia. She has worked as a legal secretary for most of her working life, has now retired, and is enjoying writing again. She lives in Adelaide, South Australia, where she spent many happy years with her husband who has recently passed away.  She now lives with her two elderly cats and she has family and friends nearby. Her previous novels are “Farnham's Folly”, “Kerrigan's Curse” and “Tanya.”